Let’s kick this thing off then…

Right so here we go. The challenge is for me to read the entire scope of Jung’s Collected Works – all 18 volumes – by year end. Why am I doing this? Good question. Well for a start whenever I’ve visited an analyst friend of mine in his lovely old room on Harley Street in London complete with fireplace, 1920s filing cabinet full of case notes and oak, glas-fronted bookcase, those collected works have sat there just staring at me, looking to be read, and reprimanding me for not having done so. But really that’s no reason to commit a whole year’s worth of reading is it?

No it’s not, and it has much more to do with the effect that Jung has had on my life and some of the people around me. I don’t want to go too heavy on this – and I’ll keep it like that for now. Suffice it to say that he has kept cropping up in my life, and always in a positive way. And the people who have told me about him have always been the kind you really take  your hat off to.

That’s enough for now – I’ll fill you in with more later.

Anyway so this blog is going to be a personal – not academic – muse on the Collected Works, complete with comments on spilt marmalade on some of the volumes and grabbed cups of tea before heading out on the bus to read it. Actually, rephrase that because I’m borrowing all the volumes from the Jung Library in Chelsea – thanks Anna. No marmalade will be involved in the consuming of these books. That’s a promise.

And you may have noticed it’s March – so am I not a little late to kick this all off? Well, yes and no. The good news is that I’ve already downed three volumes of the works. Yes I’ve nailed un, deux and trois good and proper – which is a start if not quite the pace I need to be going at – more like 1 and a half a month. Anyway, more about those first three next time – thanks for joining me for now and let’s take this journey together.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

